top of page



The University of the Faroe Islands, located in Tórshavn, the capital of the Faroe Islands, is a public university established in 1965, with a faculty and administrative staff of 150 and an enrollment of 1500 students.

The purpose of the University of the Faroe Islands is to carry out research, facilitate learning and provide teaching at the highest level, as well as to effectively disseminate knowledge about scientific findings and methods. The University carries out these tasks in selected academic disciplines and areas of research in collaboration with public authorities, private industry and wider civil society, to enhance scientific and academic standards in the Faroe Islands and to serve the social, economic and cultural needs of the Faroes and of the wider region. The University organises its own activities within the framework laid down by the 2008 Faroese Parliamentary Act on the University of the Faroe Islands, taking cognisance of subsequent amendments to that Act. The day-to-day running of the University falls to the University Rector (appointed for a five-year term), while the strategic development and oversight of the institution is led by a Board of Directors (appointed for a four-year term), which includes representatives of staff and students, as well as input from senior academics from overseas. The Board is chaired by an appointee of the relevant Faroese Government Ministry (currently the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Culture and Education).


For more information contact:

bottom of page